ACG 150

Georgios B. Giannakis, PhD

Endowed Chair Professor & Director of Digital Technology Center, University of Minnesota


University of Southern California (USC), USA
Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering

University of Southern California (USC), USA
MSc. in Mathematics

University of Southern California (USC), USA
MSc. in Electrical Engineering

National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Diploma in Electrical Engineering

Georgios B. Giannakis received his Diploma in Electrical Engineering from the National Technical University of Athens, Greece, 1981. From 1982 to 1986 he was with the Univ. of Southern California (USC), where he received his MSc. in Electrical Engineering, 1983, MSc. in Mathematics, 1986, and Ph.D. in Electrical Engr., 1986. He was a faculty member with the University of Virginia, 1987-1998, and since 1999 he has been a professor with the Univ. of Minnesota, where he holds an ADC Endowed Chair, a University of Minnesota McKnight Presidential Chair in ECE, and served as director of the Digital Technology Center.

His general interests span the areas of statistical learning and inference, wireless sensors, communications and networking – subjects on which he has published more than 1,250 papers, 25 book chapters, two edited books and two research monographs. Current research focuses on Data Science with applications to the Internet of Things, and power networks with renewables. He is the (co-) inventor of 34 issued patents, and the (co-) recipient of 10 best journal paper awards. He also received the IEEE-SPS Norbert Wiener Society Award (2019); EURASIP’s A. Papoulis Society Award (2020); Technical Achievement Awards from the IEEE-SPS (2000) and from EURASIP (2005); the IEEE ComSoc Education Award (2019); and the IEEE Fourier Technical Field Award (2015). He is a foreign member of the Academia Europaea, the Academy of Athens, Greece, and Fellow of the US National Academy of Inventors, the European Academy of Sciences, IEEE and EURASIP. He has served the IEEE in a number of posts, including that of a Distinguished Lecturer for the IEEE-SPS. For additional details, see